VINE stands for Victim Information and Notification Everyday. Kentucky is the first state in the nation to provide an automated, statewide victims notification system. Through this computerized system, critical information is available about inmates housed in local jails and adult correctional facilities as well as certain juvenile offenders. This information can be accessed 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Through computer-generated telephone calls, all registered persons will be contacted at a predetermined number when an inmate is scheduled for release or if an inmate escapes from custody. In addition to victims, law enforcement agencies and the general public will have access to housing locations and release information through the 24-hour telephone service.

What inmate information is available through VINE?

  • Status: if not in custody, the date the inmate was released will be given
  • Location: current jail or institutional address and telephone number will be given for inmates currently in custody

How do I sign up for VINE?

A person requesting to be notified should call the toll-free VINE number (1-800-511-1670) using a touch-tone telephone, to register for notification. The system will begin to call a victim for an established period of time or until the requesting party acknowledges the receipt of the release information.

How often will the system call me?

Notification regarding the release of an inmate from jail will be made every 30 minutes for a 24 hour period or until notification is acknowledged by the registered person. Notification regarding the release of an inmate from a state institution will be made to the extent possible, 72 hours before the inmate's release. In cases of parole, changes in sentences due to immediate time credits, court-ordered discharges or escapes, the system will begin to call once the inmate is released.

How can I make sure that I get the notification and not someone else?

The VINE system allows each person to register two telephone numbers. To ensure the person receives the release information, the system requires the victim to leave a four-digit, personal identification number (PIN). A familiar number is recommended for this PIN because, in some cases, it may be several years before an inmate is released. A number that is not readily familiar may be forgotten. Use of the PIN is the only way to halt the notification calls.​

the inmate know I registered for notification?

No! This system provides an opportunity to register anonymously.

What do I do if the inmate is going to be released?

If you fear for your safety, do not depend on this or any other service for your only protection. Take precautionary measures as if the inmate is already released.

What if I wish written notification of an inmate's release?

If the inmate is in the custody of the Department of Corrections and you wish to receive written notification of an inmate's release, please send a written request that includes the inmate's name and ID number along with the victim's name, address, and phone number to:

Kentucky Department of Corrections
Office of Victim Services
P.O. Box 2400
Frankfort, KY 40602

If you wish to be notified of a Corrections inmate's release on furlough, written requests must be made to the Warden of the institution where the inmate is housed.

How can I have input into Parole Board Decisions?

The Kentucky Parole Board has, since 1986, notified victims of crime and Commonwealth's Attorneys throughout the state pending parole hearings 45 to 90 days prior to the inmate hearing. The board is provided with the names of victims by local probation and parole officers when they prepare the Pre-Sentence Investigation Report. In the event the victim's address changes after the court proceedings, it is essential that the victim notify the Board of the change of address. The Board has a toll-free victim number: 1-800-221-5991. The Board's regular number is 502-564-3620.

The law requires that anyone who wishes to meet with the Board for a victim hearing before the inmate's hearing advise the Board in writing not less than seven days prior to the inmate's hearing.

Victim Impact Statements should be returned to the Board at the following address:

Kentucky Parole Board
Attention: Victim Coordinator
P.O. Box 2400
Frankfort, KY 40602



VINE Service Number: (800) 511-​1670